1.5 billion in prize money plus PGA berths…Genesis Championship starts today

October 12, 2023 | by

The Korean Tour’s Genesis Championship will be held at Jack Nicklaus Golf Club Korea in Incheon for four days starting on December 12. With a total prize pool of 1.5 billion won and a first-place prize of 300 million won, this is the largest tournament on the Korean Tour. The winner will also take home a Genesis GV80 coupe. It doesn’t end there. The winner will also be eligible for the PGA Tour’s signature Genesis Invitational next February and the Genesis Scottish Open in Scotland in July. That’s a lot of perks for winning a domestic tournament.

With so much money and perks on the line, the best of the best will be there. Among them are defending champion Kim Young-soo, Go Gun-taek, who is in top form with three wins this season, and Ham Jeong-woo, who will try to win the title for the second consecutive week. Hangzhou Asian Games gold medalist Lim Sung-jae is another strong contender.

“This is the most important event of the season,” said Kim, who returns home to defend his title after competing in Europe. I have made all the preparations to be in the best shape and show my best performance,” said Kim, who is determined to win his second consecutive title.

With three wins in the DB Insurance Promi Open, Honors K-Solago CC Han Jang-sang Invitational, and Shinhan Donghae Open, Ko will be looking for his fourth win of the season. The last player to win four titles in a season on the Korean Tour was Choi Sang-ho in 1992.

Ham Jeong-woo, who won the Hyundai Marine Choi Kyung-ju Invitational on Aug. 8 for his third career victory in two years, will be looking to win for the second straight week.

Lim is no stranger to the tournament, having won the event in 2019 and gone on to win two titles on the U.S. Professional Golf Association (PGA) Tour to become the ace of Korean men’s golf. “The Genesis Championship has a special meaning to me, so of course my goal is to win,” he said. “I won a gold medal at the Asian Games, so I want to win this tournament and make it a great season.” 스포츠토토

The tournament, now in its seventh year, has yet to produce a player with back-to-back titles and more than two wins. This year, Kim Young-soo and Lim Sung-jae will be joined by past winners Kim Seung-hyuk, Lee Tae-hee, Kim Tae-hoon, and Lee Jae-kyung, so it will be interesting to see if anyone can claim a second title.


View all

view all